Assessment » State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness

State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness

Beginning in the Spring of 2012, the state’s standardized testing program, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS), transitioned to the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR). Students in Grades 3-8 will participate in the following STAAR assessments:

    • Grade 3:  Reading, Math
    • Grade 4:  Reading, Math, Writing
    • Grade 5:  Reading, Math, Science
    • Grade 6:  Reading, Math
    • Grade 7:  Reading, Math, Writing
    • Grade 8:  Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies

Student Success Initiative: The Student Success Initiative requires that students in Grades 5 and 8 pass both Reading and Math exams in order to be promoted to the next grade.  The students will be given three opportunities per year (Spring, May, and June) to take the exams until they meet passing standards.

Secondary students will be required to meet Satisfactory Academic Performance in five End-of-Course assessments to meet graduation requirements. Each student must meet a score requirement for all EOC assessments taken in order to graduate.

STAAR End-of-Course Assessments Required for Graduation: Algebra I, Biology, English I, English II, U.S. History

More information may be obtained from your student’s campus, as well as from the links below.

How to Download Your Your Child's STAAR Results

Understanding Your Child's STAAR Results